Where is Mayagüez (Puerto Rico) Located - Where Located

Where is Mayagüez (Puerto Rico) Located

This municipality is located on the west coast of Puerto Rico and covers 78 square miles (201.1 Km2). It is also known as “the city of pure waters”, “the birthplace of Eugenio María de Hostos”, the “city of the gypsy arm”, “the city of the Indians” and “the village of the mangó”. She is also known as “the Sultana of the West”, originated by the supposed existence of a beautiful woman with Arabic features who made everyone fall in love with her beauty.

It is the fifth town with the largest territorial extension, divided into the following neighborhoods: Algarrobos, Bateyes, Guanajibo, Mona Island and Monito Islet, Juan Alonso, Leguísamo, Limón, Malezas, Mayagüez Pueblo, Mayagüez Arriba, Miradero, Montoso, Naranjales, Quebrada Grande, Quemado, Rio Cañas Abajo, Rio Cañas Arriba, Rio Hondo, Rosario, Sábalos and Sabanetas. According to the 2000 census, its general population was 98,434 Mayagüezanos. Its patron saint is Our Lady of Candlemas.

Where is Mayagüez (Puerto Rico) Located
Where is Mayagüez (Puerto Rico) Located
Mayagüez (Puerto Rico)
Mayagüez (Puerto Rico)

Among its peculiarities, Mayagüez is home to the Mayagüez University Campus of the University of Puerto Rico (former College of Agriculture and Mechanical Arts) and the Dr. Juan A. Rivero Zoo. At the same time, it is part of the “Porta del Sol” development plan; the latter aims to highlight the natural resources, gastronomy, branches of art and culture of the western region. On the other hand, La Sultana is preparing for the arrival of the Central American and Caribbean Games that will be held in this municipality in 2010. As part of its economic boom, it has the following registered trademarks that are also distinctive Mayagüezanos: Franco’s “gypsy arm”, the Cedó flans and Fido’s “sangria”. At the same time, it has proposed to continue with the development of its port area.


Mayagüez is located on the west coast of Puerto Rico. It borders with the municipality of Añasco and Las Marías to the north; with Cabo Rojo, Hormigueros and San Germán to the south; with the towns of Maricao and Las Marías to the east and with the Mona Passage to the west. It is part of the Western Coastal Valleys. Its territory is mostly flat and its soils are fertile, thanks to the rains that abound during the months of May to November. Most of its highest parts are in the northeast and east area where the Urayoán mountain chain moves, but it has some remarkable elevations to the south such as the Cuchilla Los Matos (Río Hondo and Malezas neighborhoods) or the Las Mesas mounds (Quebrada Grande, Juan Alonso and Rosario neighborhoods). Its most outstanding elevations are Pico San Bernardo (1,594 feet high), Las Mesas (1,247 feet high) and Cerro Leclerc (1,129 feet high).

Its hydrographic system is composed of three main rivers: the Grande de Añasco, the Guanajibo and the Yagüez. The first serves as the border with Las Marías and Añasco, and flows into the Mona Passage. The waters of the Cañas River and the Casanova and Cojilla streams serve as tributaries. For its part, the Guanajibo River serves as its border boundary with Cabo Rojo. Its tributaries, the Rosario and Hondo rivers also run through this municipality. The Yagüez River originates in the Montoso neighborhood, travels about 13 miles until it empties into the Bay of Mayagüez, it has as tributaries the Caricosa and Gandel streams. Other streams and pipes that water this municipality are the streams: Del Oro, Sábalos, Pulida, Guifén and Grande and the pipes: Corazones, Merle, Maní, Majagual and Boquilla.

What is Mayagüez Puerto Rico known for?
Is Mayagüez Puerto Rico worth visiting?
What is the history of Mayagüez?
What are the demographics of Mayagüez Puerto Rico?

Check Also

What continent is Bahamas in

What continent is Bahamas in?

Located more than 7200 kilometers from France as the crow flies, the Bahamas occupy a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *