Where is Kosovo Located - Where Located

Where is Kosovo Located

Location: Kosovo is located in an inland location in the center of the Balkan Peninsula. It borders Albania to the southwest, Montenegro to the northwest, Serbia and Central Serbia to the north and east, and Macedonia to the southeast. Tectonically, the plains of the blackbird field and Metochia are completely bounded by mountains. The Prokletije mountain ranges delimit Kosovo to Montenegro and Albania, the Kopaonik to Serbia and the Šar Planina to Macedonia.

Where is Kosovo Located
Where is Kosovo Located

Local time: GMT +1 (= CET), in summer time GMT +2.

Climate: Kosovo has a temperate continental climate with pronounced seasonal temperature fluctuations.

The temperatures can rise to 40 ° C in summer and fall to below -20 ° C in winter, heavy snowfalls are not uncommon.

Land area: areaof 10,887 km2.


Population: 1,733,872

Population density:159.3 inhabitants per km2

Ethnic groups: Kosovo is inhabited by a large majority of Albanians. World Bank estimates from 2000, which are followed by the Statistical Office of Kosovo to this day, assume 88% Albanians, 7% Serbs and 5% of the remaining ethnic groups. The latter include, first of all, Turks, Bosniaks, Torbeschi, Gorans, Janjevci (Croats), Roma, Ashkali and Balkan Egyptians.

Capital: Prishtina, >200,000 inhabitants; other large cities (each about 100,000 inhabitants): Prizren, Mitrovica, Peja, Ferizaj, Gjakova.

National language: Official languages are Albanian and Serbian, in some municipalities also Turkish, Bosnian and Romani. Under the UNMIK administration, English also had official status

National Day: February 17 (proclamation of independence), and April 09 (Constitution Day)

Form of government: Parliamentary democracy.

Politics: International legal status

What country does Kosovo belong to?
What race is Kosovo?
Is Kosovo same as Albanian?
What is Kosovo known for?

Check Also

What continent is Belarus in

What continent is Belarus in?

What continent is Belarus in? Belarus (Belarus) is an Eastern European country divided into six …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *